top of page

WELCOME TO THE ASKEW VIEW

Shows From a Photographer's View

  • askewviewphoto

Death Cab For Cutie Delivers Amazing Performance at Mankato Civic Center on July 9th

The show buzzing around Mankato since it was announced finally happened on July 9th! Death Cab For Cutie was the band and there were plenty of people that were waiting for this show. Originally scheduled to be at Vetter Stone Amphitheater, the threat of thunderstorms forced a decision to move the show to the Civic Center Grand Hall. Considering the show would have taken place mostly in the daytime, the photos I got were certainly more interesting. The lights that they brought would not have looked very cool in the brighter environment. People were trickling in slowly when I got there, but I assume from the phone calls I heard that not everyone got the information that the venue changed.


Lala Lala went on a little later that planned, but I assume that was to let more people find their way to the venue. They played a short intro piece and then went right into the full band playing. They seemed to have some technical issues with the lead singer's sound, but they worked through it the best they could. The singer told a pretty funny joke while everyone was waiting on the fix. It certainly got a laugh from the crowd. After a bit, they just started and the singer moved over by another band member to share her microphone. Lala Lala reminded me of music I would listen to while editing photos or just chilling around the house. Very melodic and somewhat trippy!! Click the photo below to see all my photos from the show!



Short set change and Death Cab For Cutie took to the stage much to the delight of the crowd. Starting out with "I Dreamt We Spoke Again", "Beverly Drive", and "Long Division" as the three songs I would be photographing, it was only the start of a great setlist for this show. I'll admit that I wasn't familiar with a lot of the songs as I didn't really get into DCFC much. However, I'm going to be adding them to my playlist to hear more from them. Powerful and energetic, the band rocked through each song in their setlist and the mood of the song was amplified by the light show. That is something that would have been lost in the daylight at Vetter Stone. Watching the singer fly around the stage when he wasn't singing was very entertaining and so was the fan blowing his hair around at the mic stand! It was a fun and quick three songs, but standing and watching a bit of the show before I left, I could see why so many people love Death Cab For Cutie! Click the photo below to see all my photos from the show!


As always, get out and support live performances. I'll see you out there.

16 views0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: Instagram

ASKEW VIEW PHOTO

Mankato, MN

507-508-0249

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page