top of page

WELCOME TO THE ASKEW VIEW

Shows From a Photographer's View

  • askewviewphoto

A Hot Night of Cool Rock at The What's Up Lounge on July 18th

It's been that week of summer where it feels like you're swimming through the air. Tempers are short and people are just looking for a way to cool down. Thankfully, The What's Up Lounge has A/C and there was two awesome bands playing on July 18th! Them Evils and The Black Moods made a stop through Mankato and took some time to rock our faces off.

Originally, it seemed that The Zealots were going to be the opening band for this night of rock. They had the event on their page and everything appeared to be a go. However, the day of the show they posted that they had arrived at Rock Fest. I kind of figured then that they weren't going to be at this show. Must have been a scheduling conflict of something, but I admit I was a little bummed that I didn't get to see The Zealots again.

All that aside, the show still started around 8:00. Them Evils went on first and either their set was short or I just had a really good time. I'm thinking it was the later because they really put on a performance! It was a little sad that only a handful of people were there. People really missed a killer show. Them Evils reminded me of bands I listened to in the early 90's. During the sound check, I could even hear them playing Alice In Chains tunes. Them Evils put on a show for the masses with tons of energy and a fun loving set that had The What's Up rocking!



The Black Moods did an acoustic set at Rock95 earlier in the afternoon. After watching that set, I was really excited for them to take the stage. When they did, there was no messing around. They completed the sound check and went right to it. The crowd was a little hesitant to head up as it seemed they were just doing a sound check song, but that wasn't the case. After a steady three songs, they finally took a small break to talk to the crowd. I was happy they did because I thought they were going to speed through their set and be done. That couldn't have been further from the truth! They got Jameson shots and Bush Lite, (pronounced Bush Latte), from the crowd and it was more like a party atmosphere than a normal show. I like to see more people at these shows, but I will say the more intimate performance is nice. They rocked the stage for about an hour and hung out to talk with everyone after the show! The Black Moods is a band that I'd love to see again soon. I may get my chance as it looks like they are opening up for the Gin Blossoms later this month and I have requested to cover that show! Do yourself a favor and check them out at the Varsity Theater!



As always, get out and support live performances!! I'll see you out there!

7 views0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: Instagram

ASKEW VIEW PHOTO

Mankato, MN

507-508-0249

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page