top of page

WELCOME TO THE ASKEW VIEW

Shows From a Photographer's View

  • askewviewphoto

Onion Bun, Not Just a Delicious Bread

After a long week of helping my brother build his garage, I decided I needed some music to close it out. Luckily, The What's Up Lounge had just what I was looking for! Even though I hadn't heard any of the three bands there this night, I decided to go anyway. Onion Bun, Hex Girls, and Bob Ross Mob Boss were the bands on the bill. Fun names and they sounded pretty good when I checked them out online.

I got to The What's Up and there was hardly anyone there yet. I overheard that the show would start about half an hour after the posted time to get more people in. It worked somewhat and I think some people wandered over from Blues on Belgrade. I have to admit, I was really wiped out from working in the heat most of the day, so I wasn't really the most social at this one. I kind of showed up, took my photos, and then stood off to the side or in the back to listen. Some shows are like that.

First up was Bob Ross Mob Boss. Not just a fun name to say, they sounded much different than what I had listened to before going, but that was a good thing! Fun songs and a nice set, these guys certainly had a great time on the stage. Even when the singer was discussing between song banter, he had a fun time with it. As if the name wasn't tough enough to say, I heard they had a hot sauce. Not sure if that's true, but combine all that together and you've got one hell of a tongue twister! Bob Ross Mob Boss was a great start to the show! Click the photo below to see all my photos from the show!



Next was Hex Girls. Not to be fooled by the name, these weren't girls at all! I found that when I looked them up on Facebook, one of the photographers I follow suggested I like them. After listening to them, I responded with a like! They were a fantastic band to watch! Even when they first started, I found it funny that they were going through what songs were on the setlist. I'm not sure how they kept that all straight! Sure enough, I saw their photographer was the one I follow. Pretty cool to see other photographers doing their thing. I would have to say that the Hex Girls stole the show with their set. Let's hope they return to Mankato soon, but be sure to look out for them in the Twin Cities! Click the photo below to see all my photos from the show!



Finally, Onion Bun had their turn to take the stage. The sound check revealed that this was one of those groups that didn't have singing in their songs as they said to turn down the mics since they wouldn't be using them during the songs. Even with no singing, they did their thing and you could see the emotion in their playing. Even a couple of people tried to mosh to it, but kept looking at each other wondering what to do. It was the type of music that I would play while hanging out and chilling because there wasn't any talking to distract for conversations. I did my part to post to social media and then had to take off. I was crashing quickly at this point, but I did hear the band say there was only two more songs, so I didn't miss much. Onion Bun was a fun time! Click the photo below to see all my photos from the show!



As always, get out and support live performances! I'll see you out there!

16 views0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: Instagram

ASKEW VIEW PHOTO

Mankato, MN

507-508-0249

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page